Flyprat

Go Back   Flyprat > TripReports

Notices

Old 23-08-2017, 01:17   #1
LN-RTP
Aviator Extraordinaire

Default En litt uvanlig trip report. Ikke min, men er godt kjent med slike.

My first trip with Sudden Air: I completed OE and flew home and had a nice 10 days off. I check Blue One on every day off and behold a couple of days prior to the end of my days off travel and a trip appears on my roster. Wuhu! I am scheduled to airline from CVG to ORD to FRA on United Airlines, then layover at the hotel Maritime for 28 hours. After my 28 hour layover in Frankfort I am scheduled to fly from FRA to Turkmenistan and layover in Sharja for the Lufthansa contract. Cool!
I actually spend several hours in preparation to do something that I have never done before, fly into a Russian airport. I learn about Flight Levels in Meters and QNH to QFE conversions.
Day of departure: I beg a ride to the CVG airport so I don’t have to leave my truck in pay parking for 20 days. I arrive 2 hours prior per TSA for my International flight. I DO NOT check my bag (I have been in this business for 27 years. I am flying on a RJ from CVG to ORD. I have a 60 minute connection in ORD from a regional jet gate to an International departure). ”NOT STUPID”! My United flight arrives at the gate in CVG at the scheduled departure time. After aircraft servicing the boarding begins. We are only 35 minutes late. Glad I didn’t check my bag! The GOJETS “United” crew under flies the schedule by 10 minutes, great I have plenty of time to catch my flight. Fifteen minutes after we block in, in ORD my gate checked luggage is returned to me by the lethargic ground crew. I now have 17 minutes to catch my flight to FRA.